John Lowrie Morrison

I just received this beautiful calendar in the post from Christine in Aberdeen.  She very kindly thought of me and I am very appreciative of both the thought and the colorful paintings in the calendar.  As I have found out a bit more about this painter, I have been impressed with his work and his life.

 

 

John Lowrie Morrison is known for his prolific oil paintings of Scotland and his use of a bold palette to portray rich landscapes.  He captures the beauty and history of the land, sea and communities of the west coast of Scotland,  often using light and darkness.  Jolomo (as he is known by) uses color to show emotions:  red reflects excitement, orange is warm and energising, yellow promotes confidence and draws the eye.  Blue is frequently used to calm and heal, while violets and indigos create awareness and intuition respectively.  He rarely shows people in his paintings although it can seem as though someone has just left the canvas … a gate swinging open or a ladder against a wall.  In his earlier work, Jolomo used gouache (opaque water-color) but since 1997 he has worked almost always in oils. 

 

After he graduated from the Glasgow School of Art in 1971, he spent many years teaching art and other various jobs.  His cv is long and involved and I’d invite you to have a look for yourself on his website http://www.jolomo.com/.  In 1996, John began painting on a full time basis.

Jolomo is now a Patron of the Princess Royal Trust for Carers as well as giving support to many other charities.  He very generously gives to many people out of the earnings from his paintings.  “Painting and the Scottish landscape have been lifelong passions for me and there are charities whose fantastic work my wife and I are hugely keen to support,” he said.  “It’s great to be recognised in this way for doing things you love.”

If you are interested in finding out more about Jolomo, check out his website http://www.jolomo.com/ where you can find examples of his colorful canvases where nature seems to move within the paintings.  I was particularly struck by his use of the color orange.

He is also going to be in an exhibition, showcasing “The Lure of the Hebrides”, at the Dundas Street Gallery in Edinburgh.  This event will run from March 26th to April 9th.  Information can be found at http://www.scottishartportfolio.co.uk/.

2 thoughts on “John Lowrie Morrison

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the calendar – and didn’t mind that it arrived in March! (What a bargain!) Jolomo is interesting because he is highly successful (Madonna is a fan of his) and yet gives so much to charity. (Perhaps other successful artists do as well, for all I know.) His style of painting with blocks of colour is very prevalent amongst contemporary Scottish artists. Two other artists that come to mind who use a similar style are Francis Boag and (here in Aberdeenshire) Gabrielle Reid. I don’t know if this is just a general zeitgeist or if Jolomo began it all. Another Scottish artist whose work I love very much is Pamela Carter. She uses vivid colours but her scenes are a bit more specific and recognisable.

    1. I just had a look at Pamela Carter and her use of light (and lights) is beautiful. it puts me in mind of Thomas Kinkade. oh goodness, I am looking at the wrong one. Did you know there is a Pamela Carter (artist) on the east coast of Canada? So, now I’m looking at the one you are referring to …. oh, those are very nice too. wow, art is pricey … I don’t buy too much but I do like it a lot. ah, I’ve had a look at all three artists mentioned now and I do like Pam Carter (Scotland) the best. I really do love the ocean.

Looking forward to hearing from you

