Update on the survey

 

Hello all you lovely people, I have been checking in on my survey and it’s been interesting and very informative reading the results.

Thanks to all of you who have participated and if you’re still wanting to, there’s some time left so please join in! The address is http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DPLMSJL

Here is a snapshot of what I’ve found out already:

a longer stay is better than a shorter stay.

bed and breakfast is leading at 61.5%.

visiting castles is ahead by a hefty 92.%, following closely by the islands at 85.7%.

I was excited that textiles tours is at 70%, as that is what I would like to focus on for an upcoming tour.  Theatre is a close second at 60%.

Museums and art galleries and also walking are all good options that I have neglected to include in my lists.  Thank you for those suggestions.  They were mentioned a number of times.

Edinburgh is holding in first place at 91.7% … obviously a firm favorite … with Aberdeen close behind at 83.3%.  Perth was  suggested a couple of times and that also was not on my list.  I am partial to Perth but didn’t want to just put all my favorites on the survey so it was nice to see that some others would like to see it as well.

I confess that I was a bit surprised to see Glamis Castle holding a firm first place, not because it’s not beautiful but because it a lesser-known castle.  I personally have not been there but would love to go so that seems like an obvious choice to include on a tour.  Edinburgh Castle and Scone Palace are tied for second place at 70%.  Again, some good suggestions in Dunrobin, Beauly and Fraser.

A strong response for meeting independently in Scotland as opposed to flying over together and 100% of those surveyed were fine with taking public transportation for part of the trip.

Wi-fi would be good to have but not absolutely vital, although for a few people it was.

Another pleasant surprise was that most people wanted to stay in one place from 3-7 days at a time and make day trips.  This pleases me to no end as I would be much happier as well having a permanent place to return to at night.  I have done coach tours before where we barely arrive in time to sleep and then we are up at crack of dawn the next day to pack up and travel on.  My goal is to experience Scotland while travelling at a speed that allows you to remember the time there after the trip is over.  

I am very pleased with the survey.  It has given me food for thought and also encouraged me in ideas I had already dreamed of.  Again, thank you for taking part in my first-ever survey.

(If you can access the twitter feed on the right-hand side of my blog, there are a couple of good videos of Mull and Iona :)).

2 thoughts on “Update on the survey

  1. An excellent round-up, thank you! I’m not too surprised by Glamis Castle coming in first, because it really is worth a visit. I don’t want to hype it up too much in case it doesn’t live up to expectations, but of all the castle/stately home tours I’ve done I think Glamis was the best. It has a good tearoom, a nice shop, lots of events going on throughout the year, and it also has a strong connection with royalty, which tends to be very popular. I don’t mean to dismiss Aberdeen, but I was surprised that it came in second to Edinburgh. What is it about Aberdeen that attracts people specifically, do you know?

    1. I’ve never been to Aberdeen myself so I’m thinking maybe a visit may be in order. It was interesting to see that Edinburgh topped the list and Glasgow was at the bottom. I have had a wake-up call with Glamis Castle. I think I will also need to have a visit there.

Looking forward to hearing from you

