Christmas at Castle Fraser

courtesy of NTS

 

Exclusively Highlands is having a craft fair at Castle Fraser this coming weekend. Jewellery, bags, feltwork, glass art, sculpture, artisan wood, pottery and original paintings. As well, you can find hand-reared meats, sumptuous baking and jams, jellies and preserves.

  • 24 Nov 2012 : 10:00 – 16:30
  • 25 Nov 2012 : 10:00 – 16:30

 

 

Also the Aberdeen Orpheus Choir is giving two performances in December.

02 Dec 2012 : 14:00 – 16:00 and 07 Dec 2012 : 19:30 – 21:30

Tickets are:

    • Adult : £ 10.00
    • Child : £ 7.00
    • Concession : £ 7.00
courtesy of NTS

 

And finally, something for the kid in all of us, a “Christmas Crackers” day on December 9th.

“Our children’s quiz will allow you to explore the festive castle. You can listen to the storyteller in the Library, have your face painted in the Great Hall, or have fun doing festive crafts in the Dining Room!

Visit Santa in his grotto!

Join the Rhynie Wifies in the Great Hall and make you own Christmas wreath and festive decorations using natural winter foliage.

The Granite City Brass band will be playing festive music in the courtyard from 1.00pm until 3.00pm.

Admission charges apply – including NTS members. Family Ticket: 2 Adults & 2 children; Children under 5 go free!”

Dates & Times:

  • 09 Dec 2012 : 12:00 – 16:00

Prices:

  • Adult : £ 5.00
  • Child : £ 3.00
  • Family : £ 15.00
  • Concession : £ 3.00

More information can be found on the NTS/Castle Fraser website.

 

 

Just a little personal note here:  I am a bit overwhelmed with the amount of truly wonderful Christmas events happening in Scotland.  As December approaches, I am becoming even more aware of all the lovely fairs and shopping to be had. Well, all this to say that my head is buzzing with all the posts I could write … alas, if I had time.  So, my quandry is whether to fire short blog posts off to let you know of events or whether to write at a more inconsistent pace and write a bit longer piece.  I think that until I get this figured out, please bear with me if it is a while between posts and if you are a tweeter, I will be updating my twitter feed on a regular basis so please have a look on there if you’re looking for something Christmassy to do on a weekend.  Thanks for your patience. 🙂

oh mercy me, I almost forgot.  The Country Living Christmas Fair is starting today until the 25th at the SECC in Glasgow.  Hundreds of exhibitors from all over the UK come together for this giant fair.  It’s amazing.  I did a short blog post with some wonderful pictures of some of the exhibits last year.

and last but not least, there is a great list of upcoming fairs and decorating classes on the Craft Scotland website.  Whew! I think that’s all for now.  I’ll speak to you again soon. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas at Castle Fraser

    1. you are a great encouragement! thank you.

      I’ve never been to Castle Fraser either. It looks like fun and I think I read there are secret passages and so on. great for kids and big kids like me. 🙂

Looking forward to hearing from you

