Books and Maps

lonely planet
lonely planet

 

I am off to Scotland again soon!  I am so excited.  I have pulled out the maps and books on Scotland once more.  I have a pile of books that I want to read.  They are right there on my bookshelf but if I am honest, I spend too much time on the computer and not enough time reading these days.  So … a new goal.  First book on my agenda is Neil Oliver’s “A History of Scotland”.  I saw the video series and thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

A History of Scotland Neil Oliver

 

Last year I had the pleasure of going to a conference in Edinburgh and this year it is in Glasgow.  I’m looking forward to being right in Glasgow.  It’s not somewhere I have spent a lot of time.  I have mostly been passing through, getting from the airport to a bus or train station.  So I am somewhat familiar with the Glasgow Shuttle route but other than that, I have only been downtown once or twice.

If you have access to Pinterest, “Glasgow: Scotland with style” has a page with some fun pictures that may bring back some memories of times spent there.

 

Willow Tea Rooms

 

4 thoughts on “Books and Maps

  1. Oh how I envy you. I would love to be going with you. Hopefully next year I will get back to Scotland. In the meantime I will purchase your recommended book. I have vague recollections of maybe seeing one episode of this and really enjoying it.

  2. Next year is a Homecoming year and there will be lots going on, I’m sure. I hope you are able to make it back then. I found the book on Amazon, if you are looking for a place to buy it. I’m finding it an enjoyable read. I hope you enjoy it too. 🙂

Looking forward to hearing from you

