Aside

To flit

scotland-4-047.jpg

 

The Scots Language Centre tells us – Flit (v.):  to remove (one’s household, etc.) to another house, go elsewhere.  Originating from an Old Norse verb flytja, it is found in Scots sources from the Middle Ages onwards.  It can also be found in the Ulster-Scots language as both a noun and a verb.

Twice in the past couple of weeks, I have heard the word used in blogs that I follow.   Occurrences like that tend to tickle my interest so I was intrigued and began looking out all my dictionaries and checking online. The two blogs that mention the word are Kate Davies Design and Writing from Scotland.

4 thoughts on “To flit

  1. Interesting, I don’t think I’d actually connected the word ‘flit’ with ‘flight’. I’ve noticed a few examples of words in Norwegian that are similar to Scots words and it’s particularly noticeable on Shetland, which I suppose isn’t too surprising given the proximity of Norway

    1. I’d always associated flitting with moving quickly, like what a hummingbird does. Moving house doesn’t usually go that fast but I guess it is moving from one place to another. 🙂

  2. Loads of Norwegian influences on Scots – this interested me so much that I did a course in Norwegian while I was at university in Aberdeen. My grandparents spoke a dialect heavily influenced by Norse.

    When I think of moving house, I express it to myself as ‘flitting’.

Looking forward to hearing from you

